Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Stanton Community Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Charles E. Lakin Outstanding Teacher Award

For the past 8 years, KMA and the Green Hills Area Education Agency have presented the Charles E. Lakin Outstanding Teacher Award. Four instructors within a 40-mile radius of Emerson --Lakin's hometown--receive the awards each year for efforts in enticing students to come to school each day.

With this spring's process, the Lakins will have awarded $260,000 to area teachers and their associated school districts over the last 8 years. The 2015 spring nominations received for the 2015 awards resulted in winners Joy Best from the A-H-S-T elementary school and Rhesa Leiding from the Nishnabotna High School, each receiving a $10,000 award.

Winners will be announced in May. No announcements will be made prior to the actual presentation. Teachers nominated for the Award will not be notified of their nomination.

  • Number of awards:  Total of 2 primary awards annually (1 for elementary schools and 1 for secondary schools).
  • The winners will receive: $12,500 each. Teacher receives $10,000 and school $2,500 (one for elementary schools and one for secondary schools).
  • There are also 2 runner-up awards who will receive $5,000 each.

To nominate a teacher or for more information please visit http://kmaclosings.connections.net/lakin.php

More Headlines

Upcoming Events